Under Pressure

I have a confession: I thought making decisions about what to do in the condo would be easier. Because I have a clear(ish) vision for the place – light and bright mid century with jewel tone and metallic accents – I thought I would know exactly what I would want. However, because I also have a tight time frame and tighter budget, it has often been much more of a challenge than I’d anticipate to make choices.

This weekend I had to make paint selections. I had previously purchased several test pots of light gray paint only to determine that every one of them was darker than I really wanted when I got them into the space. As it turns out, my contractor prefers Sherwin Williams paint, so I recently ventured into a local store to check out their selection. That’s where I found this palette created in partnership with West Elm. It had a very light gray (almost white) that I liked and figured might work after my too-dark light gray experience. It also had some darker grays I liked and a blue that I thought just might work for the powder room vanity, which I’d considered painting some shade of navy.

A bit more on the teal side, but lovely and glamorous as I've imagined.
Bosporus: A bit more on the teal side, but lovely and glamorous as I’ve imagined.

So when the contractor said he needed paint colors pronto, I decided to hold my breath and go ahead and choose these “untested” colors. Crazy? Probably. But no crazier than choosing based on paint color names which I’m also apt to do. “Green With Envy”? You bet you are! I’ll take five gallons!

My thinking is that I know these colors will work together because – hello? – that’s the point of the palette. Decision making made easy! Right? I sure hope so, because I have a whole lot of Incredible White going up in places I’ll not be able to reach to re-paint.

Can you even see it? It has "white" in the name. Wait, is this gray at all?
Can you even see it? It has “white” in the name. Wait, is this gray at all?

My bathroom was recently outfitted with some snazzy new white penny and subway tile, grouted in gray. I think the Monorail Silver will be nice in there.

monorail

I am using a couple other, darker shades of gray from the palette in the guest bedroom and on the fireplace. For Monkey’s room, I found the lightest value on the Bosporus strip and chose it for her room.

blue horizon

Lest you think blues and gray are all I’ve got going on, I’m going off palette in one place. For Monkey’s bathroom cabinets, the plan is to go with 2014’s Pantone Color of the Year, Radiant Orchid. It’s so pretty. Probably too much for some. I think it is just right for a bathroom cabinet, especially for a little girl. With the Incredible White on the walls and a simple counter top, I think it will be just perfect.

Reminds me of Lumpy Space Princess. Coincidence or subconscious domination?
Reminds me of Lumpy Space Princess. Coincidence or subconscious domination?
LSP rules. She rules!
LSP rules. She rules!

Fingers crossed that this leap of faith pays off. I have LSP and Freddie on my side. What else could I need?

One thought on “Under Pressure

Leave a Reply

